Good Things and Bad Things

I feel like my life works in a cycle.

Or maybe it’s more like Newton’s Third Law of Motion.

“For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.”

Except for me, it’s “for every good thing that happens, there will be an equal and opposite reaction (bad thing).”

Perhaps that only makes sense in my brain.

Anyway, I only had two classes today. In Communications, we listened to speeches (meaning I studied for Astronomy, like I do). In English, we spent two hours and forty minutes watching Troy, or as I like to call it Brad Pritt Makes a Valiant Attempt to Portray an Ancient Greek Hero

When I got back to my dorm after English, I was surprised and very pleased to see that an anonymous person had decorated my door with OPhiA paraphernalia! For those of you who don’t know, Omega Phi Alpha is the service sorority I am pledging with (it’s not Greek row, it’s strictly service, which I love!).

So, I went to the Pledge Retreat. Here, our bigs were revealed to us and it was great fun and I am so happy! I’m a member of the owl family and have lots of wonderful owl things to go show for it!

Image

This is my big and me! Aren’t we adorable?

Well, after going to the Reveal, I stopped by Hasting’s to look for a book. Bad idea, I know. Mom, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry, I know I’m not supposed to go to Hasting’s late at night but I did. Worst decision ever, you were right.

As soon as I got out of the car, there was a very odd man who looked like Bob Dylan standing about 20 feet away from me.

“Ma’am, my wife and I ain’t got no gas. We were wonderin’ if you could spare us some money to get back to Tullahoma?” Cue me snapping on my pink pepper spray wristlet and positioning my car key like a dagger in my hand. Ninja.

“No, I have no cash.” I said as I slowly started to get back into my car.

“You don’t have change or a dollar or -” He was getting closer and I was about to have a heart attack.

“Sir, I do not have anything.”

“Anything could help us; we’re stranded.” He had moved toward me another 3 steps.

“Sir, I have no cash and if you come any closer, I will spray you with pepper spray and call the cops.”

This got him to back down. He walked back across the parking lot to his car, cussing me out the whole time.

I booked it into the store and couldn’t find my book. HOWEVER, all was not lost because I found (drum roll) a Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver keychain!

In nerd world, this is a huge deal.

Image

See? It’s amazing.

I concluded the evening by having one of the store employees walk me to my car, which meant I had to resist the urge to yell, “I have pepper spray and a sonic screwdriver! Come at me, yo!” I made it back to college world safely and all is well.

Until next time, dear readers!

xx Chloe

One thought on “Good Things and Bad Things

Leave a Reply

