Gatsby

College is great. I love it. Ninety percent of the reason I love it is due to the fact that I have at least one interesting experience per day. Maybe I just think this because it’s all so new and everything is fascinating to me. Maybe I’m the only one that finds these experiences funny. Either way, I’m having a blast.

I make tee-shirts and sweatshirts. I take designs or scripts that I like and use fabric pens to transfer them to clothing. My most recent (and favorite) project was a sweatshirt that said, “Party At Gatsby’s.” Well, one night, I wore my sweatshirt into the cafeteria next to my dorm. The girl working the register where we swipe our cards took a look at it and said,

“Party at whose house?”

I laughed. “Gatsby’s!”

She looked at me very quizzically then announced,

“Nah, I don’t know Gatsby.”

cue my awkward “I don’t know how to respond to this” face.

“No, no, Gatsby is a character in a book!” She gives me another curious stare.

“What book?”

Okay, seriously?

The Great Gatsby.

“…nah, I ain’t read that book.”

I wonder if you can possibly imagine how difficult it was for me to walk away with a straight face.

Speaking of Gatsby, I should mention that he has made it onto my list of “Ten Things Making Me Really Happy Right Now” which can be found below.

1. The Great Gatsby movie
2. HALLOWEEN!
3. Skinny Salted Caramel Mocha
4. My roommate is now 18!
5. Pledge “Retreat”
6. Fall Break
7. A Surprise Party
8. Cowboy boots
9. Impending trip to the book warehouse
10. I get to see my NC/VA family in about 7 weeks!

Until we meet again!

xx Chloe

Image

Leave a comment